shatterlines previously...
. . .
hey it's 1:30am again. i was here doing the same thing last night. going through all the scraps of my thoughts and throwing most of them away.

i just got back from an amazing concert. carissa's wierd. it seems silly to me to think this, but i've had a mixture of potent emotions brewing inside myself for awhile and being in the presence of something so raw and accommodating has made me bubble over, tonight.

i know i lost it all, so many years ago. what is there here, left of me now? i should be more but it's there on the floor like a fallen birthday cake. i move i move i keep moving and the head-lit car is roaming up the crazy road with its granite cliffs over my head and the nine mile river soaking through my shoes my socks and my cold feet. this is a memory. angry and afraid of dreams that don't belong to me though they visit me. lit with nine regrets. make a wish and blow, my son. i walk on shoulders. i peer out from behind twisted guard rails. i think i can hide from her and walk all the way home from here. i wish i had i wish i had not stopped and built a home made of cake and glass. right then and there. the trauma blossomed the cliff slid and the river flooded. i know i lost it all, except my shoes my socks and my cold feet.

i wash my hands in the river. a sun rise; another day. we can safely say it's finally the end of all this. i will eat my cake. fuck the three-second rule.

...

this is an insult to your intelligence
we both already know how you feel about that
this is an invite
this isn't anything at all
except for the fact that you're here and i'm gone
i saw someone today that looked exactly like you
it's funny how the years go by

. . .