shatterlines previously...
. . .
my roommate of two years is planning to move out next year to live with his special lady friend. i'm quite happy for them but i've realized that i'm also a bit terrified. this is a huge apartment to have all to myself. a good handful of the friends i have i have through him. they're very different to me so i worry what will happen with those relationships. as we are geting older we can already see how these things might play themselves out way sooner than is healthy. i really should prepare to fill the space by raising more plants than i have.

i experienced jens lekman last night. i arrived way too early and even considered leaving because, having gone alone, i was bored out of my mind waiting for the first act, who were meh, and then another hour for jens and family to set up. but he was as dreamy as i hoped he'd be, and his accompaniment of six talented, swedish dolls pretty much kept me in a complete state of heavenly a/v bliss for what seemed like 20 songs, some of which i'm a bit blushed to admit was spent with the fantasy of bringing the bassist home with me, making her a cup of tea with honey and tucking her into my bed. even though i couldn't work that out, jens was fabulous and it was a treat to have him tell the stories of many of the songs. especially tram #7, which never made sense to me before, now echoes a slice of my life with autumn that never really had a proper song to go with it before.

included in the price of admission was another one of those stupid shy moments that i'm so famous for. there was this girl, also arriving alone. i could tell she was like me, i could tell that we have been living the same kind of life. i wanted to know her even better: step 1. make eye contact step 2. be mysteriously cute, smile and make 10 seconds or more of continuous eye contact step 3. stand next to her during the show; make 'accidental' physical contact at appropriate times step 4.... at this point i'm still never quite sure what to do. maybe i've gone about it all wrong. this is something i should have worked out properly in high school. and there was that bassist in my eyes. like ever: stupid eyes! anyway, i never saw my would-be lover leave the show. and here i am with honey in my tea, drinking alone.

. . .