shatterlines previously...
. . .
i woke up this morning to my clockradio which is set to npr and lo! they're doing an m. ward interview. i thought it was so cool -- and i was so sleepy-eyed -- that i started crying as i lay in bed listening. just hearing the guy speak is so lulling. i love all kinds of musix but he can hit me in that same sweet spot that billy holliday and elliot smith and a few others do. here's the linx for that.

so i feel like i can say it with pride and confidence now: i have been completely not smoking for 7 weeks! god, what a pain in the booty this has been. i still want one but i've become far too stubborn about it to fall for it. it's all a big brain job. bad brain says, "i need a mother fucking cigarette!" and good brain says, "go suck on a rock you stinky loser."

i have almost no coffee now, too. but it's funny i feel like a bigger hyper-spazz now than before. i constantly have busy-bee energy. i think the nicotine was totally dulling me out and the liters of black coffee a day was just helping me to keep up.

so like a coupla days ago i got all machismo and decided to try running; one day i want to be a cool jogger with short shorts and an ipod, right? i mean, why else would i put myself through the horror of quitting? i ran 4 city blocks from my apt and back without stopping. there was this burning void in my chest where my lungs are supposed to be. ohmygod i thought i was going to die in a bright white lite. so, yeah. uhm. screw that running crap.

check out the cool jesuses in the window!

. . .