shatterlines previously...
. . .
i can't see the sky for the trees. i mean, sky, fallen leaves, inner child i loved and looked down upon all at once. when you said i wasn't listening, you were wrong. when you said i didn't care, i didn't care. i said we'd meet again, and i was wrong. i said i'd love you forever and i still do.

my own personal 15 minutes were with you, bent over the bannister. i have it on tape, in my head, my afternoon movie. my morning weather. everything else is grainy and overcast.

you and your wednesday's deluxe. me and my mission. i saw a boquet of poppies today and it made me think of you. i saw an ambulance scream down 3rd today and it made me think of you. i saw the word "heart" mispelled today and it made me think of you. you once wrote that i would always be in your hart, and i wonder if that's still tru.

and i feel that it's okay to still wonder these things, outloud, because i'm back in that space like nothing ever really changes it just hurts less the next time around. i wouldn't have gotten here if none of it mattered. i'm picking at scabs. i'm lighting the dark. your spider. it's in here.

it's autumn and i'm missing everything.

the first half a poem by yehuda amichai i wrote down once
while mourning and seeking wisdom in a library

a man in his life has no time to have
time for everything.
he has no room to have room
for every desire. ecclesiastes was wrong to claim that

a man has to hate and love all at once,
with the same eyes to cry and to laugh
with the same hands to throw stones
and to gather them,
make love in war and war in love.

and hate and forgive and remember and forget
and order and confuse and eat and digest
what long history does
in so many years.

. . .